Search This Blog


Saturday, November 17, 2012

ISS Changes Command: Williams to Ford

Expedition 33 Commander Suni Williams of NASA handed over the reins of the International Space Station to NASA astronaut Kevin Ford during the traditional change of command ceremony aboard the orbiting laboratory.
Williams, Soyuz Commander Yuri Malenchenko and Flight Engineer Aki Hoshide of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, all of whom have been on the station since July 17, will make a parachute-assisted landing in their Soyuz spacecraft in Kazakhstan on Sunday, Nov. 18, 2012.
Remaining onboard ISS to begin Expedition 34 are Ford, Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin. They will be joined by Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko, NASA's Tom Marshburn and Chris Hadfield of the Canadian Space Agency; their arrival on Dec. 21, 2012 will restore the ISS crew to six members.

No comments: