Search This Blog


Saturday, December 22, 2012

Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority Board of Directors Reconstituted by Gov.

Virginia Gov. Robert F. McDonnell is reconstituting the board of directors of the Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority following the enactment of legalisation in July 1, 2012 downsizing of the board from 13-members to nine, and expanding its five-year budget to nearly $50-million.
The previous board appointed Dale Nash as the new executive director of the Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority in June 2012.
The authority's new board membership includes in the Virginia Secretary of Transportation Sean Connaughton; the Director of the Virginia Department of Aviation Randall Burdette; Vincent Boles of Annandale, General Manager of the Advanced Technology Division for Aerospace Corporation, John R. Broderick of Norfolk, President of Old Dominion University; John N. Jester of Chincoteague Island, retired Department of Defense Agency Director; and Jack Kennedy of Wise, Clerk of Court for Wise County and City of Norton and a Space Frontier Foundation Advocate. Gov. McDonnell is expected to appoint three additional members prior to the end of the calendar year.
The Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport will host commercial space launches to the International Space Station and a civil space launch to the Moon in 2013.

No comments: