Search This Blog

Loading...

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

NASA IRIS Mission Re-set for June 27, 2013


The launch of NASA's Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS) mission is being delayed one day to 7:27 p.m. PDT (10:27 p.m. EDT) Thursday, June 27, 2013 from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. Live NASA Television launch coverage begins at 6 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. EDT).
 
The launch of IRIS on an Orbital Sciences Corporation Pegasus XL rocket is targeted for the middle of a five-minute window.
 
IRIS is a NASA Small Explorer Mission to observe how solar material  moves, gathers energy and heats up as it travels through a  little-understood region in the sun's lower atmosphere. This interface region between the sun's photosphere and corona powers its dynamic million-degree atmosphere and drives the solar wind.
 
The drop of the air-launched Pegasus from Orbital's L-1011 carrier  aircraft will occur over the Pacific Ocean at an altitude of 39,000  feet, about 100 miles northwest of Vandenberg off the central coast of California, south of Big Sur.

No comments: